The stars of the FIA Formula E Championship will take part in a virtual race in Las Vegas in a bid to win a share of the biggest prize in eSports racing history.

All 20 FormulaE drivers will race for the opportunity to win a share of $1 million as part of events during the Sports Business Innovation Summit (January 5-8, 2017) at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES).

Additionally, 10 fans will also have the opportunity to take participate through the Road to Vegas Challenge, organised by Cloud Sport. The Road to Vegas challenge is a series of online qualifying races will lead to 10 gamers having the chance to take on the 20 Formula E drivers in the Visa Las Vegas eRace.

Competitors will use Playseat gaming rigs running rFactor 2 software with Cloud Sport acting as race regulator and scrutineer. Similarly to “regular” Formula E races, fans will be able to FanBoost Formula E racers and Sim racers alike. FanBoost will work in the same way as it does for normal ePrix, with the 3 drivers with the most votes getting an additional ‘virtual’ power boost. The format of the Visa Vegas eRace is the same as a normal ePrix, but as there are 30 drivers instead of 20, there are 6 qualifying groups of 5, while a race involving the 20 slowest drivers in Qualifying will determine who makes it through to the final and a chance to win USD$200,000.

Photo courtesy @Cloud_Sport

The top 10 scoring Sim drivers joining the FormulaE drivers and their FanBoost hashtags are:eracers

A breakdown of the prizes provided below:

1st Place – $200,000

2nd Place – $100,000

3rd Place – $50,000

4th Place – $42,500

5th Place – $35,000

6th Place – $32,500

7th Place – $30,000

8th Place – $27,500

9th Place – $25,000

10th Place – $22,500

11-30th Place – $20,000

Pole: $25,000

Fastest lap: $10,000

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, said: “Formula E takes one more giant step in engaging with our fans. Gamers from all over the world will be able to participate in the ‘Road to Vegas Challenge’ and earn themselves the opportunity to race against the Formula E drivers in a unique eRace.”